top of page

ABOUT

School Resource Officers perform many roles within their schools. Of the many hats they wear, 3 stand out above the rest. It is called the SRO Triad.

First and foremost is as a law enforcement officer, providing their safety and security expertise to protect students and staff.

Secondly; SROs can draw from their own education, training, and experience to help supplement classroom studies. SROs are often called upon as guest speakers and as subject matter experts in a variety of fields to help expand regular classroom content. 

Finally, as an informal counselor the SRO is another adult with whom students can build rapport, seek advice, and talk to when help is needed. 

School Resource Officers are sworn law enforcement officers, who are primarily assigned to work in a school setting and have specialized training to work with youth.

By interacting with students everyday, SROs can build positive relationships with students and help to promote a climate of safety in the school. SROs work hand in hand with school administrators to help create a safe, inviting learning environment.

executive team

Bill Rudie.jpg
President
Bill Rudie
Fairview Schools
william.rudie@fairview.kyschools.us
Chris Barrier
Past President
Chris Barrier
Montgomery County Schools
chris.barrier@montgomery.kyschools.us
KYASROLOGO.PNG.png
Vice President
Tim Gividen
Carroll County SO
timothy.gividen@carroll.kyschools.us
John Lonaker.jpg
Sgt. at Arms
John Lonaker
Boone County Schools
jlonaker@boonecountyky.org
Wanda.jpg
Treasurer
Wanda Absher
Pulaski County Schools (Retired)
wsabsher22@gmail.com
LeeAnn Morrison 5.jpg
Secretary
Lee Ann Morrison
Kentucky Center for School Safety
leeann.morrison@eku.edu
Robert Carter.jpg
Educational Advisor
Robert Carter
Hopkins County Schools
robert.carter@hopkins.kyschools.us
lucy riffle.jpg
Historian
Lucy Riffle
Erlanger-Elsmere Schools (Retired)
lucyriffle116@gmail.com
Carolyn Stewart.jpg
Educational Advisor
Carolyn Stewart
Campbell County Schools
carolyn.stewart@campbell.kyschools.us
Educational Advisor
James Slaven
Bullitt County Schools
james.slaven@bullitt.kyschools.us
Tyrone Gregory.jpg
Region 1 Rep
Tyrone Gregory
Hopkins County Schools
tyrone.gregory@hopkins.kyschools.us
Region 2 Rep
Kelly Tipple
Elizabethtown Ind.
kelly.tipple@elizabethtownky.gov
Chris Young.jpg
Region 3 Rep
Chris Young
Fayette County Public Schools
christopher.young@fayette.kyschools.us
James Poynter.jpg
Region 4 Rep
James Poynter
Grant County
james.poynter@grant.kyschools.us
Dakota Gilkison.jpg
Region 5 Rep
Dakota Gilkison
Ashland PD
dakotagilkison@ashlandky.gov
Joel Shepherd.jpg
Chaplain
Joel Shepherd
Erlanger-Elsmere
 Schools
aoel.shepherd@erlanger.kyschools.us
Region 6 Rep
Todd Johnson
Berea PD
todd.johnson@madison.kyschools.us
Training Advisor
Vacant
Department of Criminal Justice Training
 
Jon Akers.jpg
School Safety Advisor
Jon Akers
KY Center for School Safety
jon.akers@eku.edu
Tracy_Day2.jpg
SBLEA Rep
Tracy Day
Fayette County Schools
tracy.day@fayette.kyschools.us

Links to other school safety resources:

KYCSSLOGO.jpg
NASROlogo.png
ksp_seal.gif

MOA/MOU:

A Memorandum of Agreement, or Memorandum of Understanding (MOA/MOU), is an important tool in the development of a School Resource Officer Program within a school district. It serves to outline the roles and responsibilities of the school and the officer in the school safety partnership. They may outline equipment and financial needs and obligations, as well as certain duties to be performed by both parties. Check out these sample MOAs/ MOUs:

SAMPLES:

bottom of page